Save the Date: Book Goes Live Next, NEXT Monday

For those of you who don’t know, over the last 6 months I have been working on putting together my thoughts for students heading off to University, and those still in it.

These thoughts are being accumulated into a book called “What I Wish I Had Known: A Former Student’s Guide to University and College.” The goal of this book for me was to share some of the lessons that I learned the hard way during my university career. I wish something like this had been available to me when I started, because it would have saved me a lot of blood, sweat and tears (minus the tears, I don’t cry – ever).

So, what is the book about? It’s broken down into five key sections:

  1. Your world is about to change – looking ahead
  2. The Basics over the next four years (social, financial, edible, physical, academic)
  3. 3.     What they won’t teach you in University (mentors, getting things done, networking, how to read, setting goals)
  4. 4.     Discovering you (finding your passion, tools to use, what to try)
  5. A complete guide to internships, summer jobs, full time jobs and corporate life (writing a good cover letter and resume, interviewing, following up, first job, getting a fulltime job)
  6. Lessons from the other side (what I wish I had known)

Within each of those five sections there are numerous chapters. Currently, it is just below the 200 page mark – so there should be enough content in there to satisfy you.

How Can I Get a Copy?

When I started asking people for advice in my own career, I would always offer to take them out for a drink – usually a beer. That is how I am going to share my book – for the price of a beer, you can get a complete electronic copy.

Additionally, I am going to sell Hardcover copies for cost, so if you want to really support me, then please sign up for that option. In addition to a physical copy, the hardcover will also have a couple extra goodies in it.

When Can I Get a Copy?

You can get a copy starting next next Monday, on August 20th. On that day I will open a Kickstarter page that you can pay through (it’s very painless and easy), and you will be able to read more about the book there.

So, if you yourself are heading off to or back to school soon, or you know someone heading out – a son, daughter, grandson, brother or sister – get them a copy – they will thank you one day!

 

Leave a Reply

