Why I Got Rid of Cable

Last night, I spent a solid 5 minutes removing my TiVo box. I’m getting rid of cable TV (don’t worry, I am keeping the internet – how else would I blog?!).

Getting rid of cable is the what, but in this blog post, I wanted to focus more on the why.

Why I Got Rid of Cable

When I was young, I was told that a good goal to set was ‘become a millionaire’. That statement was subsequently followed up with, “now, why do you think that is a good goal?” It seemed obvious enough to me – so you can have a million dollars! Wrong. The reason to set a goal such as ‘become a millionaire’, is not what you will get, but what you will have to become to get there. That was the first time I was able to really tell the difference between the why and the what.

That brings me back to cable. Getting rid of cable – the what – is actually relatively unimportant. What is more important is the why. I got rid of cable because it was starting to be a bigger time drain than I would have liked. It was starting to become a habit – arriving home, turning on the TV, and sinking an hour plus into a show that I would neither care for nor remember in a few days.

Additionally, I think one of the huge dangers of cable is that it removes the planning element of watching a movie or show on another means. If I want to go out to a movie, download (oh no!) a movie, or stream a TV show, it requires a focused effort. I need to think about what I want to watch, plan out how I am going to go/find it, then actually do it. With cable, I can just sit down, hit power, and hundreds of shows will pop up – ones I might not even have planned on watching! That’s the danger of cable – it lowers the barriers to laziness and lethargy.

What Can You Get Rid Of?

I got rid of cable – and I have already noticed the benefits. Instead of turning on the TV last night, I got an extra half hour of reading done. Now the question arises – what can you get rid of?

We all have something in our life that we would rather spend less time on; the problem is, as long it is around, we will spend time on it. Maybe it’s TV, maybe it’s Xbox, and maybe it’s a ball in a cup game. Whatever it is, the best way to deal with it is to simply get rid of it.

Now don’t get me wrong – I am not asking you to get rid of every entertaining and relaxing thing in your life and drive towards pure efficiency – but if there is something in your life that you are committing more time to than you rather would, maybe it’s better just to get rid of it, and think of what that will free you up to become.

 

Blair Livingston

One thought on “Why I Got Rid of Cable

Leave a Reply

